Achy Breaky…

Naah…nothing to do with the heart…nor to do with the fact that its Valentines day…really truly achy breaky!

 

Well, there was a slight snow shower last evening and well it was a bit dark and errr…the roads were a bit slippery and I suppose I was a bit tired and..hmmm…and then again it could happen to anybody…infact I am very sure it happened to a lot of people last night and well it wasn’t such a big deal; infact I am sure nobody noticed it…the only reason I even mention this is well because…er…ahh..well…. OUUCHHHH!! It hurts!!

 

I do the Humpty Dumpty so often in my life, its not even funny anymore…and I did it yet again yesterday…I slipped and fell! L On the footbridge across the Thames this time around. The roads were slippery and well…it just happened!

If I had been pushing the buggy as I normally wld have been doing, Arjun would have found himself floating in the water in a matter of seconds, buggy et al, perhaps with me tugging at him as well!

 

It neednt have been half as bad though. I could have gracefully tripped and caught myself by the railing and could have basked in Santos anxious attention. Instead I plunked on the bridge making enough noise and causing enough impact to scare the ducks and gulls away and had Santo barking orders for me to get up as fast as I could.

 

Now don’t get all judgemental about the poor husband. In his defense, he used not to be like this. The first time he ever saw me fall he was the perfect gentleman and offered help, sympathy and all the consideration thereafter.

But now we know each other for almost 7 years and in these last seven years Santo has seen me fall at the slightest excuse(or even without one) atleast a dozen times! And every single time he has watched the catastrophic falls with a mixture of horror, humour and helplessness!

Eventually he has accepted what my parents accepted long back…no surfaces are safe for me and no footwear slip proof enough!

 

Now, if I had to pick the most embarrassing fall I have ever had, that would be a tough one! Without thinking too far back, there are various incidents in the last two years which stand out!

 

Last year we were at the Mudchute Farm for a childrens concert and an one and quarter year old Arjun who had barely mastered the art of walking challenged me to a game of Catch-Catch(Pakda Pakdi). So I was chasing him in circles and while he was doing us proud by his tiny legs and keeping a good pace, I embarrassed both Arjun and Santo by falling down with a huge thud. I have never been able to look the sheep in the eye since that day…imagine the nightmares their poor lambs must have gone through on my accord…they probably weren’t sure what hit the ground!

 

On numerous occasions I have meant to occupy a seat on the tube, have missed a step and have landed on a poor unsuspecting co-passengers lap…well almost that is! But this surely doesn’t happen only to me? Do you not also sometimes end up on other peoples laps? No??? Kidding…rite?

 

Oh well, I am not going to keep talking about my follies! Not so much because I care about embarrassing msyelf…but thinking about each of those silly stumbles-in buses, on steps, in peoples backyards , on treadmills, even on a podium when I was acting as the master of Ceremony…reminiscing about these things makes me laugh…

 

Laughing causes movement and movement HURTS!!

 

(A good opportunity to thank Rama who was walking with me at the time-not only did he manage to keep a straight face, he even offered a hand to pick me up, which was a very very brave act indeed!)

 

 

 

 

3 Responses to Achy Breaky…

  1. Pal says:

    Hey, that was a rib-tickling post, and my body aches now, laughing out loud!! You have a flair for humour, don’t you? Hope you’re feeling better now, and hope you don’t fall too much.

    Just thought I’d take the opportunity to confess that the most embarassing fall I ever had was in a theatre. I was holding pop-corn in one hand and Coke in the other, and the seats were so narrow, that by the time I could reach my seat (the corner-most romantic one), I had fallen into hubby’s lap! I mean, not my hubby….

    :-)))

    http://writerzblock.wordpress.com/

  2. sanyash says:

    Finally able to reply to the comments on my blog…had some problems before!
    That was too funny! You falling into someone elses lap…how romantic 😉

  3. Yogesh says:

    Oh! Kashi ahes aata? Hope you are doing fine after the great fall! Wud love to hear what Arjun’s reaction was to all this. Santo was really at his best when this happened. By the way, is the bridge doing okay? 😉

    You have made the above para absolutely hilarious, I was laughing out loud in office. It was not allowing me to comment earlier, trying my luck for the fourth time now.

Leave a comment